Bloomberg Law
July 23, 2021, 6:16 PM

State Worker Safety Agencies Mostly Adopt U.S. Covid-19 Standard

Bruce Rolfsen
Bruce Rolfsen

Nineteen of the 21 U.S. states with their own occupational safety agencies covering private and public workplaces, plus Puerto Rico, have told federal OSHA that they’ll adopt the agency’s rules for protecting most medical workers from Covid-19, leaving only Utah and South Carolina workers without that regulatory shield.

Also signing on are four states and the U.S. Virgin Islands, whose safety agencies only cover state and local government workers.

Connecticut, which is similarly situated, hasn’t yet responded, according to the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration. The state’s Department of Labor didn’t respond to a Bloomberg Law inquiry on whether ...

Learn more about Bloomberg Law or Log In to keep reading:

Learn About Bloomberg Law

AI-powered legal analytics, workflow tools and premium legal & business news.

Already a subscriber?

Log in to keep reading or access research tools.