Chemical Safety Board Nominations Advanced by U.S. Senate Panel

Sept. 22, 2021, 2:51 PM

Three nominees to the U.S. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board have been cleared by a Senate committee, one advancing on a 10-10 tally, and now face a confirmation vote from the full chamber.

President Joe Biden nominated Sylvia Johnson, Jennifer Sass, and Steve Owens to fill three of four open seats on the CSB on April 28.

While Johnson and Owens advanced on a voice vote out of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works Wednesday, Sass was recommended for rejection by ranking member Shelley Capito (R-W.V.), after the nominee deleted her Twitter account when questioned during a ...

To read the full article log in. To learn more about a subscription click here.