EU Takes First Step to Restricting 6,000 ‘Forever Chemicals’

July 15, 2021, 1:21 PM

The European Union on Thursday launched the first move to prohibit a group of about 6,000 per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances, with a declaration by five countries that they’ll make a formal restriction proposal next year.

Denmark, Germany, the Netherlands, Norway and Sweden seek to prevent the manufacture, sale and use of PFAS within the EU, in an effort to stop discharges into the environment of substances so persistent they’re known as “forever chemicals.”

  • PFAS may be toxic, cause “irreversible environmental exposure and accumulation” in soil and water, and are “very difficult and extremely costly” to clean up, the countries said ...

To read the full article log in.

Learn more about a Bloomberg Law subscription