Changes to minimum wages and to wage-related laws are to take effect in several states July 1, requiring affected employers to ensure they are in compliance.
State Minimum Wages
Minimum wages are to rise July 1 in three states:
Illinois: The hourly minimum wage is to rise to $10 from $9.25, and the hourly minimum wage for tipped workers is to rise to $6 from $5.55, based on a tip credit that is to increase to $4 from $3.70. Workers younger than 18 who work less than 650 hours in a year are to be paid $8.
Nevada: The hourly...