Bloomberg Law
Sept. 9, 2021, 3:51 PM

DHS Extends Deportation Protections Despite Trump-era Blocks

Austin R. Ramsey
Austin R. Ramsey

More than 400,000 citizens of six Latin American, African, and South Asian countries who live and work in the U.S. under a temporary deportation protection program will be able to stay for at least another year, despite efforts by the prior administration to end those protections.

Nationals from El Salvador, Haiti, Nicaragua, Sudan, Honduras, and Nepal whose temporary protected status was set to expire next month will be granted an automatic extension until Dec. 31, 2022, according to a Department of Homeland Security notice published Thursday.

Temporary Protected Status protects foreign nationals in the U.S. from deportation if an armed ...