Daily Labor Report®

Denver First to Hike Its Local Minimum Wage Above State’s

Nov. 26, 2019, 4:47 PM

Denver hiked its local minimum wage to $12.85 per hour effective Jan. 1, up from $11.10, becoming the first local government in Colorado to set its minimum higher than the statewide level.

The Denver City Council unanimously approved the ordinance Nov. 25. The vote will set the Mile High City’s wage floor 85 cents higher than Colorado’s hourly minimum, which will rise to $12 on Jan. 1. The state used to bar local governments from setting a minimum wage higher than the state’s, but the Colorado General Assembly repealed that law during the 2019 session (H.B. 1210).


To read the full article log in. To learn more about a subscription click here.